Plumbing Central

February 5, 2010

Community Plumbing

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , — admin @ 3:15 pm

Greetings readers! I’m really starting to pick up blogging steam and am enjoying it more and more everyday. Today I want to talk about something that is a little out of the box for a guy like me. I was doign my usual internet surfing looking for other sites on plumbing when I came across a site called Drupal. Now for those of you who have never heard of Drupal, it is what is known as a content management system. Essentially it is a way for non-techies like me 🙂 to make websites. OK so you are probably now wondering what the heck some website making system has to do with plumbing. Well don’t worry I’ll get there, but first I wanted to say that I think that after this post you should definitely go and check out the drupal site. OK so back to what this has to do with plumbing, well Drupal’s slogan/motto/tagline/whatever-you-want-to-call-it is “Community Plumbing”. This is certainly an interesting slogan for a website technology. After seeing this motto I was of course intrigued as to what exactly this had to do with plumbing. Well it turns out that the software is actually openly editable by anyone! Yes I said anyone! This means that I could go in and add some stuff to the software if I wanted. Of course I’m sure they have quality checks and I know that my limited Microsoft Word skills wouldn’t be very helpful for them but the concept is very cool. Lot’s of people all work together to make a cool tool and best of all they give it away free! Now if you are like me you are probably wondering why someone who has the kind of skills that it takes to write computer stuff just do all that work and then give it away free. Well I haven’t quite figured that part out yet, but maybe they are like me and just like helping people. I know tons and tons of stuff about plumbing and I give it away free on my blogs. So maybe they are like me, just a heck of a lot smarter. Anyway the concept of community plumbing comes from the fact that everyone is cleaning and maintaining the inner workings of the system. A really cool idea and I think I might steal that title for my next blog, lol, jk.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

