Plumbing Central

January 17, 2010

Plumbing Career Path

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , — admin @ 5:14 am

Hello everyone! I hope you all are having a great weekend and enjoying the NFL playoffs. I know that with the job market the way it is that many people are looking at new career options and I’ve received a few inquiries about how to get started with a career in plumbing. As many of you know I am a licensed master plumber and have worked as a plumber for several years in the Atlanta area. I actually enjoy the work and most of the plumbers that I know feel the same way as I do. Being a plumber in Atlanta is not a glamorous job but it does pay very well and allows you to have a nice lifestyle. Although I am not working as a plumber currently I love always having the option of working in a field that is always in high demand. It makes many of the other decisions that I make much easier and allows me to have a great peace of mind about the direction that my life is going. Now I don’t want this to start sounding like a sales pitch for plumbing but I do want to try and make this an informative post so that anyone out there who might be interested in becoming a plumber would have some decent information. I wrote a recent article that you can view on buzzle.com called Becoming a Plumber. In that article I tried to give an overview of a few of the main things that people should consider when contemplating a career as a plumber. Check it out when you have a few moments and let me know what you think of the article. I have actually been writing quite a few articles lately and it feels good to get some good quality information out there for people. I know that the articles don’t get read all that often but they do get read and as long as I can have an impact on one person then it is worth it to me. I love my new career as well since it has given me so many opportunities to really help people. I can use my expertise in a few areas and that can really make a difference in the life of someone else. This doesn’t exactly give me a warm and fuzzy feeling but it does make me sleep a little better at night. Trust me when I start to think back about how some of my past actions impacted families then I need something to make me feel a little better about myself. For any new readers who don’t know my story I am referring to the fact that I used to routinely peg plumbing clients as “suckers” and stick it to them by charging overly high rates for repairs or including superfluous line items on their invoices. A few of these families had to get financing to pay for the repairs and when I think about a father having to leave his wife and kids to work a second job just to pay for some bogus repairs I initiated I get a little sick to my stomach. Unfortunately my behavior was and is all too common in the plumbing industry and now that I have grown up and become a better person(at least I like to think so) I am doing my best to right those wrongs. How you might ask? By telling my story and using my experience and knowledge of the internet to get the word out. Atlanta plumbers beware, your days of fleecing unsuspecting consumers are numbered. OK I’m sure you are tired of reading by now so I’ll wrap it up. I hope everyone has a great weekend and stay tuned for some great plumbing tips that I will be posting over the next few weeks. Thanks!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

